chapter lx

New Home

Posted on: April 1, 2009

It's pink!

It's pink!

The bedroom

The bedroom

I moved in today, and am tired but so pleased. It is a lovely apartment – see the photos. It is large and sunny with beautiful wood floors, and wainscotting in the bedroom, mantle in the living room – not a working fireplace. The view out the front is onto the bay, and down the street into the main part of town. I’m tired, although it didn’t take even an hour to unload the van. Only fifteen steps up to the front door. There is a nice porch which will be lovely in the summer to sit on. There is also space for a garden in the back, and a clothes line. One minor annoyance – I can’t get the CBC on the radio – must find an antenna and see if that works.

I have unpacked most the boxes. One unusual feature – no closets. And of course I don’t have a bed. Tomorrow is shopping for some of those basics, but in a couple weeks. Lunenburg has “spring clean-up” when people put things they don’t want in front of their houses, and anyone can just take anything. I love a good scrounge.

It snowed yesterday; today was sunny and warmer. I am sitting outside the library in the van because the library is closed, but I can connect to their wireless from here. I won’t be connected at home for about a week. Did get a cell phone yesterday, and ordered home service but am still waiting for that to be connected. I don’t even know my phone number yet.

My love to all who are reading this. Things are going so well, I just know this move is a good one. More later

View from the porch

View from the porch

Living room

Living room

Another room

Another room

Leave a Reply

