chapter lx

Day Seven

Posted on: March 7, 2009

Me and Sally

Me and Sally

It took a long time to finally get on-line tonight. But here I am. Left Arizona today, after visiting so many people I enjoyed being with. Sally and her friend Elaine and I went to the San Xavier Mission before I left this afternoon. It was very beautiful, and a good start to a good driving day. Went through desert and more mountains – the Dragoons, which were rounded brown rock. Long flat stretches, and very windy. There seemed no way but the interstate to get across, and now I am in Deming, New Mexico. Tomorrow will pick up US 180 and hopefully a little more interesting. Found a lovely room at the Grand Hotel, and had a delicious Mexican dinner. Looks like a good breakfast in the morning, and a good stretch into Texas. I think it will take two days to cross Texas. I’m going to try uploading some of the photos now. Let’s hope I can keep this connection long enough.

Mission San Xavier

Mission San Xavier

Kateri Tekawitha

Kateri Tekawitha

In the garden at San Xavier

In the garden at San Xavier

The Dragoons

The Dragoons

2 Responses to "Day Seven"

Katherine,

Nice to read your travel blog. I drove through that area about 10 years ago. Will you stop in Ontario? Spring arrived yesterday with a high of 56!

–Dallas

I haven’t decided yet which way to get to Nova Scotia once I leave DC. It partly depends on weather. It would be beautiful to hug the coast all the way.

Leave a Reply

